Run for Recovery 10k Race Report

Today was the big day…the day of my first 10k race! Because I have done this distance 4 times in training, I was not anxious about the distance. I was not curious about the course either because I had previously done one loop of it for a training run. (On that day, I was going to do the whole thing, but my body did not like that heat that day.)

For my first 10k race, I decided to pick a small local race: Breaking Free’s Run for Recovery in Aurora. September is National Recovery Month, and Breaking Free is an organization that offers counseling and recovery services.

For this race, the race directors offered a 5k or a 10k option. Most people running were doing the 5k, and there were maybe 40 people running the 10k. Like I said, it was a SMALL local race. The race was on the Waubonsie Creek Trail, specifically the part that goes around the lake with one small out-and-back section to tack on distance. The route for the 10k was the same as the 5k, just twice around the course.

I attempted packet pick-up in Naperville before the race, but getting to the race packet pick-up was a disaster. Route 59 is under massive construction and was a mess. I rerouted to Route 34, and I discovered that it was also a mess. Because I was on my way to a concert in Naperville, I decided to skip the packet pick-up and get to the venue early. (The concert was amazing, by the way. Every one needs to go listen to Armon Jay: armonjay.com)

Because of that race packet pick-up failed attempt, I arrived to the race early today to pick up my packet. The race start, raffle prizes, and packet pick-up was all conveniently located in a pavilion and close to a small bathroom. Picking up my packet was a breeze. There were tech shirts and tee shirts available. As I mentioned before, most tech shirt fabrics irritates my skin so I exchanged it for a tee shirt. This made a woman who had gotten a t-shirt and wanted a tech shirt VERY happy.

I must mention the weather today. I did NOT expect to be running a mid-September race in 40-46 degree weather. After spending all summer running in the 70s-90s (and the rare high 60s), my body was definitely shocked. I dressed in layers and wore a hat and gloves. I told my groupie (aka my mom) to be prepared to grab them once I finished the first loop of the course.

After making two trips to the bathroom, it was time for the race. We all lined up together, and the race directors encouraged us to sort by faster runners toward the front and slower towards the back. I wanted to be near the middle, but I quickly realized that I needed to be closer to the front. I made a very good decision. As soon as the race started, I passed about 10 people and settled into my pace.

During the first mile, I thought to myself: “This is stupid. Why am I doing this?” I, however, reminded myself that when I run these longer distances, it usually takes me a while to settle into the idea of running. By mile 2, I was in a good mood and maintaining a pretty decent pace.

At mile 3 in this race, I was very close to the finish line and said, “Aww I wish I was doing the 5k.”  Yes, longer distances still need to grow on me.

The race volunteers and spectators cheered me on as they told me: “one more lap!!” I gritted down knowing that I had the hardest 2 miles ahead. I always fade during the middle of a long run. When I’m running a 10k distance, I start fading at mile 3 and this typically lasts until I hit mile 5. As predicted, my times were a little slower for these miles, but I still felt good.

Finally, I saw the 5 mile marker, and I knew that it was nearly time to kick things up a notch. I had been running behind one person for a long time, and I honestly really wanted to pass her. She looked about my age, and I didn’t want her beating me. (Yes, I race for myself, but I’m also one of those people that has a competitive streak.) At the last 0.5 miles of the race, I got my chance. I passed her, and I knew I had to maintain my pace or go faster. She seemed to be really fading at the end, but I was completely expecting a second wind. She almost got it too, but I took off. I smiled for the race photographer in the home stretch, and as soon as he took the picture, I sprinted even faster.

I finished extremely strong, and I was so shocked at my time. I finished in just over 57 minutes (official time will be added later when I get it)! To put this into perspective, the first time I ran this distance, it took me 1:05:35. I’ve really improved over the course of 8 weeks.

I stayed for the awards ceremony, and I won first place in my age division!!!! It may actually be the case that I was the only one in my age division…but I don’t care. I kicked some major butt in this race, and I’m super proud of where my training has gotten me.

The only suggestion that I would have for this course is to have more water on the course and to offer Gatorade or Powerade afterwards for the 10k finishers. While the water wasn’t needed today, I could definitely see that being a problem for the 10k people if it had been hot today. There was one water station at mile 1.5/4.6.

Also, at the awards ceremony, we were introduced to a gentlemen who is 85 years old and is still racing. Today was something like race number 1324 for him. I want to be awesome like that when I’m his age!!

What’s next for races:
-September 21: Brookfield Zoo Run Run 5k
-November 2: Skyrise Chicago StairClimb (please consider donating to the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago here: http://ric.convio.net/site/TR/SkyRise/General?px=1193181&pg=personal&fr_id=1100
-November 9: Gobbler Hobbler 10k

One thought on “Run for Recovery 10k Race Report

Leave a comment